## Christchurch City Council Representation Review 2015 Appeals and Objections

## **Concerned Christchurch Citizens, December 2015**

We welcome the work done by Council to improve Christchurch local representation in 2016. The proposed new ward map has merit as a starting point. We firmly believe that major issues are not yet resolved because two obstacles remain, two unacceptable priorities set by Council, that the Local Government Commission must now overcome. Effective community representation is thwarted by:

- 1. Banks Peninsula influence and elected representation greatly disproportionate to its population size, of 8,223 in the reviewed ward proposal;
- 2. Pre-determination by Council to increase the number of councillors to the maximum possible; a councillor increase is too narrow and exclusive an interpretation of what better democracy is.

This submission offers solutions to these problems and some refinement of ward boundaries, to best reflect local communities and Christchurch development into the future.

## **Counter-proposals**

- A. *Abolition of Banks Peninsula ward* and retention of the Lyttelton-Mount Herbert and Akaroa-Wairewa community boards, that are better not merged into one board, to keep city council locally accessible.
- B. Attachment of the Lyttelton-Mount Herbert board area to the Heathcote ward and the Akaroa-Wairewa board area to the Halswell ward.
- C. Removal of the proposed Central city ward.
- D. Retention of Sydenham and Waltham as whole communities within the Spreydon and Cashmere wards, respectively. Opawa should also be retained within Cashmere ward, while Heathcote takes on the Lyttelton-Mount Herbert population plus Woolston. Linwood ward should include Christchurch cityeast, while giving Woolston to Heathcote, and perhaps retain the name 'Hagley' that notes the south city link. Innes ward should extend through St Albans to the city north, and all other wards have small adjustments as necessary, sensitive to community boundaries.
- E. *Re-extension of the Spreydon ward boundary*, in line with the Initial Proposal, to Blenheim Road and Curletts Road at the north-west, to keep Addington community historic area whole.
- F. Eight community boards, representing 14 wards, that each service rural areas equitably:

Fendalton Waimairi Harewood (6 board members + 3 councillors)

Innes Papanui (4 board members + 2 councillors)

**Burwood Coastal** (4 board members + 2 councillors)

**Linwood Heathcote-Lyttelton-Mount\_Herbert** (4 board members + 2 councillors) + (4 + 1 shared)

**Riccarton Hornby** (4 board members + 2 councillors)

**Spreydon Cashmere Halswell-Akaroa-Wairewa** (6 board members + 3 councillors) + (3 + 1 shared)

Total: 35 board members (a reduction of five) + 14 councillors + 1 mayor = 50 elected members

ne	Address	Phone number(s)	Signature
	7 (441 000	i nene namber(e)	<u> </u>

Send completed petition forms to:

Representation Arrangements, Christchurch City Council, PO Box 73017, Christchurch 8146 or email to <a href="mailto:repreview@ccc.govt.nz">repreview@ccc.govt.nz</a> to be received by 4.00pm on Monday 21 December 2015.